CSMBC History

The Connecticut State Missionary Baptist Convention Inc.

In 1904, eleven Baptist churches in the state of Connecticut gathered at the Messiah Baptist Church in Bridgeport, Connecticut, to form the Connecticut State Missionary Baptist Convention (CSMBC). Their mission was to empower the local body of Christ through its various programs. 

They elected Rev. W.M. Morton as the first president and Rev. Isaac W. Reed as secretary. Despite two world wars, the Great Depression, and a pandemic, the convention has operated without interruption.

Over the years, the convention has made substantial contributions to the National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc., the Progressive Baptist Convention, many Historical Black Colleges, and aides these causes in their mission and education projects, both home and abroad. The convention has also issued opinion papers in local and state government affairs, has been a leader in civil rights and will advocate for those who have no voice.

The CSMBC auxiliaries include The Women’s Auxiliary and the Congress of Christian Education.  Both function under the leadership of an appointed president as well as other officers.

The CSMBC has five associations: Judah, Asher, Zebulun, Issachar, and Levite. The associations are organized based on the member geographical location and functions under the leadership of an appointed moderator.

The CSMBC has and always will be at the forefront of mission and education. In 2002, a Christian Preschool in Trinidad, West Indies, was established. In 2008, the Boise Kimber Christian Leadership School, a division of the National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc. Christian Education Ministry, was formed and currently operates in 2 locations, Hartford, and Fairfield Counties.

The CSMBC continues to support the education of youth in all member churches. It provides annual scholarships to graduating seniors.

The organization has grown from its original 11 churches to the present status of over 60 member churches. There have been 20 presidents, all of whom have made tremendous contributions to ensure the convention’s viability.

Presidential Terms

Rev. W.M. Morton, 1904-1906
Rev. W.O. Harris, 1906-1908
Rev. W.A. Harrod, 1908-1911
Rev. D.S. Klugh, 1911 -1917
Rev. C.I Fisher, 1917-1919
Rev. W.B. Reed, 1919-1921
Rev. I.W. Reed, 1921-1926
Rev. B.L. Matthews, 1926-1938

Rev. F.W. Jacobs1938-1957
Rev. J.A. Taylor, 1957-1971
Rev. R.H. Wood, 1971-1975
Rev. S. P. Petteway, 1975-1979
Rev. R. E. Williams, 1979-1983
Rev. C.M. Cofield, 1983-1987
Rev. S.L. White, 1987-1991

Rev. L. Bailey, Jr, 1991-1995
Rev. A.B. Samuels, 1995-1999
Rev. R.W. Perry, 1999-2003
Rev. B.K. Watts, 2003-2007
Rev. B. Kimber, 2007-2015
Rev. L. E. Curtis, 2015-2020
Rev. B. Kimber, 2020 –